Void Labels

How to void labels, how refunds work (where applicable), how voiding affects order and shipment statuses in ShipStation, and important notes about voiding.

Once you create a label, you cannot edit it. If you need to change the address, shipping service, weight, or other shipping options, you will need to create a new label. The best option for this is to first void the existing label, then create a new one. For labels purchased at the time of label creation, the postage provider will issue a refund according to their refund policy.

Voiding a label will preserve the shipment record in ShipStation and allow you to create a new label on that same shipment.

You can void a label from the Print Preview screen, the Shipment Activity Widget in Order Details, the Shipments grid, or the Shipment Details screen.

Not All Labels Can Be Voided!

Be aware that some carriers do not allow voiding labels in ShipStation directly, and some carriers do not support voiding labels at all. In these cases, contact your carrier directly for assistance with your account.

When possible, we have listed when this limitation exists on each carrier's integration support page in ShipStation's Integrations Help Guide

Refunds are provided by the postage provider that you purchase the label from.

Void from Print Preview

Follow these steps to void a label from Print Preview:

Void From Order Details

After the label is successfully voided, if the order was in the Shipped status, ShipStation will move the order back to Awaiting Shipment.

You can then create a new label, mark as shipped, or cancel the order as needed.

Void From the Shipment Grid

After the label is successfully voided, if the order was also in the Shipped status, ShipStation will move it back to Awaiting Shipment.

You can then create a new label, mark as complete, or cancel the order as needed.

View Records of Voided Labels

After voiding a label, the shipment record can still be found under the Shipments tab. The order will return to an Awaiting Shipment status.

The voided shipments will display in the Shipments grid with the shipment number, associated order number, and the former tracking number link crossed out.

V3_SHP_VoidGrid.png

Not a Record of the Refund Status

The Voided status means the label is canceled and cannot be used to ship, but it does not reflect the status of any refunds for the voided label.

Notes About Voiding Labels

  • You should always void the label first and then create a new label.

    If you create a new label before voiding the original, ShipStation will create a shipment without the associated item(s). When you then void the original label it will cause ShipStation to think the item has not been shipped yet (because it is not associated with a shipment) and the order will remain in the Awaiting Shipment status.

    If this has happened, use the Mark as Shipped option to move the order from Awaiting Shipment to Shipped.

  • Refunds are issued by the postage provider that you purchase the label from.

  • Post-billed accounts, like UPS and FedEx don't charge for labels that you don't use. However, we recommend you still void the label if you plan to create a new one, so that the shipment record contains the correct items and your reporting will be accurate.

  • Labels, fulfillments, returns, and voided labels all count towards your account shipment limit. Read our article How are Shipments Calculated? to learn more.