Combine Shipments

If you have multiple orders you wish to combine into a single shipment, use the Combine Shipments option. 

Combine Shipments allows you to combine items from separate orders into a single shipment while maintaining the integrity of each order. This is so ShipStation can accurately communicate shipment statuses and tracking numbers back to your selling channels for each order. 

Before You Combine Orders!

Not all selling channels support the shipment update we send after an order has been combined. 

At this time, orders combined in ShipStation for Amazon, OpenSky, SellerActive, or TradeGecko will not update correctly on the selling channel, and so we do not recommend combining orders from these selling channels in ShipStation. If you have done so, you will need to manually update the selling channel with your shipment information. See our Integrations Guide for more information.

ShipStation University Preparing Orders for Shipping Course

If learning by doing is more your style, take the ShipStation University Preparing Orders for Shipping course. The lesson videos will show you the different ways you can configure your shipments as well as how to split orders into multiple shipments or combine multiple shipments into one.

Combine All Items

To ship all items from separate orders together:

Combine Some Items

If you want to ship only some of the items in each order together, first use the Split into Shipments process to split the items you will not include in the combined shipment into their own shipment. You can then use the above steps to combine the remaining items into a single shipment.  

View Combined Shipments in Orders Grid

Orders that contain multiple items can be expanded in the Orders grid so you can see exactly what items are included in each order without the additional step of opening the Order Details screen.

To view the order's items, click the disclosure triangle to the left of the order you wish to view.

Orders grid. Red boxes outline a multi item order and an order that has been combined.
V3_ORD_Grid_MultipleDropDown-MRK.png

Revert a Combined Order

You can revert or "uncombine" orders you have previously combined within ShipStation.

If you need to make this change:

  1. Click either order involved in the combine action to view the items on the Order Details screen.

  2. Check the box to enable Split Ship Mode. Then select the items to remove from the combined order.

    Order details, Shipment section. Red arrow points to Split-ship mode checkbox, selected.
  3. Click the Move to New Shipment button.

    V3__ODET__SplitShip__MoveToNewSHPMT__MRK.png

This action will remove the unwanted item from the order you have open and revert the item to its original order. When you close the Order Details window, you will see the orders are now back to their separated state.

Notes about Combining Shipments

  • ShipStation will notify the marketplace for each individual order separately, but the customer notification emails will be combined into a single email that lists all the products in the combined shipment.

  • ShipStation will use the default email template assigned to the store, even if all of the individual orders were set to use a different template.

  • If using the [Order Number] field replacement for Label Messages, Packing Slips, or Email Templates, ShipStation will use the Order Number for the first order that was created.

field replacement
field replacement