Instructions for canceling orders, assigning orders to a user on your ShipStation account, or put an order on hold.
When you manage orders, you may need to put some orders on hold, assign certain orders to specific users on your ShipStation account, or cancel the order in ShipStation to remove it from Awaiting Shipment without shipping it.
The Hold action puts orders into the On Hold status until a specified date. This is useful for pre-orders, out of stock products, or delaying orders for any other reason.
Use Automation Rules to automate putting orders on hold. Review the Automation Rules article for details.
Add the Hold Until column to show the Hold Until date in the Orders grid.
The On Hold tag will appear next to the order number in the Order Details screen.
Use filters and create custom views for On Hold orders.
You can continue to configure shipping and create labels for orders when they are in the On Hold status.
Some stores, like Magento, can import orders directly into the On Hold status. Automation rules will not run on these orders until they move to the Awaiting Shipment status.
Orders which are put On Hold will be updated to the Cancelled status if ShipStation receives a marketplace update which indicates the order was cancelled.
Orders that imported as Awaiting Payment and have not been paidwill return to Awaiting Payment when removed from On Hold status.
Assign orders to other users on your ShipStation account so your staff always knows what to work on. Used in conjunction with User Permissions, you can ensure all your staff knows what they should be working on as soon as they log in.
Use Automation to Assign Orders
Automation rules can also assign orders to your users as the orders import.
To learn how to automate the assign orders process, see our Automation Rules article.
Enable the Assigned To column to view order assignments directly in the grid.
Automate order assignments using Automation Rules so orders are assigned as soon as they import into ShipStation.
You can change assignments at anytime following the above procedure.
Any shipment records created from an assigned order will automatically be assigned to the same user. However, you can change which user the shipment is assigned to at any time without affecting the order assignment.
You can cancel orders if you are not going to ship them and need them removed from the Awaiting Shipment status. You can also restore orders in ShipStation if they were canceled by mistake.
When you cancel an order in ShipStation, it will not affect the status of the order within your Selling Channel/Marketplace (with the Jet marketplace being the notable exception).
To completely cancel an order, it is best practice to cancel it from the selling channel. ShipStation will update the order as Canceled the next time you import orders from that store.
This process cancels the order in ShipStation. View Cancelled orders by selecting Cancelled in the order status sidebar.
If the order also has a label, ShipStation will also attempt to void it. The order will still be cancelled, even if the label does not void successfully.
ShipStation will move the order back to the Awaiting Shipment status.
If you do not wish to cancel the order, but instead just cancel the shipment, you can do so by voiding the label. Voiding the label will remove the shipment from the order and move the order back to the Awaiting Shipment status.